

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

held at the National Civil War Museum Newark on Thursday 20 June 2019

Present

Richard Evans, Chair

Andrew Lovett, Hon Treasurer Victoria Wallace, Hon Secretary Matthew Tanner, Vice Chair Emma Chaplin, Director

Mark Francis
Mhairi Cross
Tim Bryan
Susan Okokon
Rhiannon Goddard
Charles Brien
Marilyn Scott
Brian Gorski
Elaine Sansom

Sue Tapliss Alex Walker Iain Standen Kathy Powis Stephen Lowy Simon Cates

Vicky Carroll

Hilary McGowan Charlotte Morgan Rhian Tritton Glynis Powell Carol Whittaker Sue Widden

Frank Collingwood Beverley Donaldson

Matthew Bellhouse Moran

Natalie Patel Nicola Bell Jen Barback Janet Lewis Tamalie Newbury Claire Browne Audrey Winkler

Isabel Churcher Sarah Staniforth

1. Apologies for absence

Received from Camilla Nichol, Jonathan Bryant, George Monger

2. Approval of Minutes of the AGM held 21 June 2018

The minutes were approved (motion, Hilary McGowan, seconded by Glynis Powell)

3. Matter Arising

The Chair confirmed that the concept of offering membership cards and free entry to AIM member attraction had been considered, and for the time being, desirable though it might be, it was concluded by Council that the administration of the system would be too complex. It was felt better to leave this as a personal courtesy, offered by museums on application by members.

4. To receive the annual report and accounts

The Chairman thanked Andrew Lovett and Emma Chaplin for the work they had put into improving AIM's financial information. He noted the pleasing growth in membership, and the success of achieving new commitments from Biffa, the Pilgrim Trust and the core funding from Arts Council (England). He also noted the positive partnership with the Charity Finance Group. The shift for AIM from being entirely voluntarily run to having a professional team was a big step, as was the decision this year to move into office accommodation based, appropriately in a member museum site.

The Hon Treasurer, Andrew Lovett, presented the accounts, noting that the scale of income was identical to last year with around £1m of income. The spending profile had also been similar, there had been some savings on unrestricted funds, mostly as a result of timing, so a small surplus had been generated Free cash reserves stood at £178k. A clean audit had been received without conditions as a result of considerable effort by the staff. Congratulations went to Emma and the team. There were no going concern issues.

The accounts were approved unanimously (proposed, Rhiannon Goddard, Seconded, Brian Gorski.)

5. Election of Trustees/ Members of AIM Council

The Chair reported that five new council members were recruited last year, and three were stepping down after long service. These included Matthew Tanner (after 18 years); Tim Bryan (12 years) and Glynis Powell (10 years). They were thanked by the meeting for their huge contribution.

Victoria Wallace, Caroline Worthington and Marilyn Scott were standing for re-election. Their continued membership was proposed by Matthew Tanner, and seconded by Hilary McGowan and approved unanimously.

A review of Council membership would be undertaken in the Autumn.

6. Appointment of Auditors

Following a competitive tender, it was proposed that Crowe UK would be appointed auditors at a fee to be agreed by Council. (Proposed, Victoria Wallace, Seconded, Simon Cates, unanimously carried.)

7. There being no other business, the meeting adjourned at 4.35pm

8. Date of next meeting

The next AGM will take place during the 2020 AIM conference in June.

Association of Independent Museums

Registered Office: c/o ss Great Britain Trust, Great Western Dock, Bristol BS1 6TY.

Registered in England: 1350939. Charity no: 1082215

www.aim-museums.co.uk